The Racing Centre
- Funding type
- One-off grant
- Funding stream
- Racing & Breeding
The Racing Centre is a long-standing facility for Newmarket's stud and stable staff. Originally founded by Sir John Astley in 1893, it has stood in its current location on Fred Archer way since 1975.
To help the Centre meet its modern purpose as a community and fitness hub for all local residents, a series of renovations were undertaken over the course of the summer of 2020 to improve and future-proof existing facilities. Funding for these works was provided by the John Pearce Foundation and included the creation of a state-of-the-art café, an increased reception area, as well as two new treatment rooms to accommodate further rehabilitation work. The upgraded café now boasts a barista coffee machine, an upgraded kitchen capable of producing both hot and cold meals, and new furnishings throughout. The function hall has benefited form new flooring, upgraded furnishings and overall modernisation to cater for weddings, conferences and sporting events.
The Racing Centre reopened in August.